• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help please AMD ATHLON XP 3000+ bios settings A7n8X-X

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dailus

Hello there. I have had this computer for about 8 years so its pretty old with the parts and all, but it doesnt seem to function well even when it comes to playing games and other things from 2003 for example.

I'm not really good with understanding all this bios stuff, but i try to work around it. I've been having problems with the computer for about 3 years already, and I just found out that my AMD ATHLON XP 3000+ should be at 2.1 ghz processing speed and 200/400 fsb, but it seems that whenever I set these setting the computer just dies. It just shuts off with no warning whatsoever.
I've had it at 133mhz and its a complete waste since I cant play any games with it, its a struggle. I also compose in cubase and it just works crap.
I just tried it with 166mhz fsb and it died a few minutes after. So i'm running it at 133mhz currently.

Here are the specs: (Using CPU-Z for most)

PSU : Dell HP-P2507FW (http://www.atxpowersupplies.com/250-watt-power-supply-FSP250-60ATV-1A.php)

Motherboard: Asus A7n8X-X (Nvidia NFORCE 2400)

CPU: AMD ATHLON XP 3000+ BARTON (10.5 multiplier)

RAM : Slot 1 - Kingston DDR 256mb PC3200 (200mhz)
Slot 2 - Team Group Inc 512mb PC3200 (200mhz)
Slot 3 - Nanya 512 mb PC3200 (200mhz)

Graphics: NVIDIA GEFORCE FX 5600XT 128mb

As far as I've searched google, its supposed to run at 200fsb just fine, but it doesnt even do 166. I figure i've got something set wrong in bios. :s

A few hours ago I managed to run it at 166fsb by messing around with the chipset settings at bios and putting QFAN at full speed.
It went for a while until it died again a few minutes ago.

The settings I recorded for 166fsb that I used were:

FSB - 166mhz