• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

help with ic7-g oc

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

unwrittenLaw

Sorry for the newb post, but I'm new to Intel. First here's my list of components:

-IC7-G w/ first BIOS i think
-2.4Ghz P4C Retail
-OCZ EL PC3500 2x256
-Thermaltake Xaser 480W PS
-Sapphire Radeon 9500 Pro
-2 x 80GB WD 8mb
-Audigy 2
-Chieftech Case w/ 6 Fans--case temps around 24C
-SLK947 w/ AS3 and Enermax 92mm Fan--temps around 36c at stock voltage/speed

So anyway, with my older Mushkin pc3200 I can get to around 3ghz with the 3/2 /5/4 ratios. Then I upgraded to Geil Golden Dragon pc3500 to try and run at a higher memory frequency. It did not work AT ALL in my IC7, so I RMA'd it. Now I have some new OCZ PC3500 cas2 (showing cas 2.5 in BIOS, not sure why..), and it wont let me even get close to 3ghz at any ratio. It won't even post unless I lower it down to 230 or less FSB at any ratio and with relaxed timings as well. I even tried upping the vdimm and vcore a bit but that didn't seem to help. I'm getting a bit discouraged that I'm not getting good overclocks like everyone else.

Any suggestions are appreciated.
Thanks

did you try messing with the differnt CPU strap settings ?

Mine likes the 667 more then anything (different mem timings)

thanks for the quick replies..

ok, i set the pc strap to 800, and it will now boot at 250fsb..now i just need to run 3dmark, prime to see if its stable. If my mushkin was stable at this speed..I hope the OCZ can take it...

Are there any other 'key' bios settings I need to change for maximum oc/stability...??

thanks again

for me and I think most others as well, there's a fine point where the CPU just won't do it anymore...