• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

HELP!!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ethie1990

Registered
Hi everyone,
Im new to this so be easy on me. I am having a problem with my A8 3870K (what i ordered and received) When i first build my machine windows and CPU-Z showed it as an A8 3870K @3.0GHz. i recently got an SSD and installed Windows 7 home premium 64-bit but now when i run CPU-Z and look at windows it show A8 3870 @ 2.9GHz.

Can anyone help???

Put a load on the CPU with CPUz running (Prime 95 Torture test)... it should jump up to 3.0Ghz. I assume power savings features are on.

CPU Z sometimes can't recognize the CPU correctly. Officialy, it happens because the CPU/ MOBO couple isn't stable enough but it occurs with stock frequencies too... :shrug:

Go to the BIOS and check this, you should find it correct :thup:

You know honestly this is my first build and i dont know all that much about computers i pretty much know the basics haha

Earthdog, that tutorial forgets to mention the first step, that is clicking on Go Advanced.

ethie1990, welcome to OC Forums!

To attach a pic with a post, first crop and save the pic to disc. Snipping Tool in Windows Accessories is great for this. Then click on Go Advanced at the bottom of any new post window. When the advanced post window appears, click on the little paperclip tool at the top. This will load the file browser/up-link tool and the rest will be obvious.

You know honestly this is my first build and i dont know all that much about computers i pretty much know the basics haha

To go into the BIOS, you have to restart the computer, and press the right key during the few seconds your MOBO screen appears ;)