• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

[Home Server Build] - My first server, ZFS, RAID 5 and other networking stuff

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Eichhorn18

I wanted to create this as a start of my build log that will eventually (hopefully) produce a neat little home server. This is my first attempt at building a server and while I do not have all the details worked out yet I hope some of you will help me shape what I need and enjoy seeing the build come to life. This started about a month ago and there was some previous discussion about my motivations, prebuilt NAS options which I was considering at the time and some recommendations to run Linux on my server such as CentOS, Samba etc. That discussion is linked to below and I will continue to discuss that, here.

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=725275&highlight=Eichhorn18

Project Objectives:
  • Provide storage capacity for media to be streamed across my home network
  • Provide a secure location for archived data (accessed infrequently)
  • Provide data redundancy without outsourcing or transferring data offsite
  • Upgrade my network infrastructure to "future proof" my home
  • Learn to use a new OS
  • Access my data from PC and Mac workstations (currently 4 in total)
  • Have fun doing it all

To get some help with all this I want to open it for further discussion. I've laid out all my questions below that I have not been able to resolve yet by researching / reviewing. I've already mentally divided this project into three parts.

1. The server hardware
  2. The network and connected devices
  3. The server software

Budget