• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

how much better is artic silver 5?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Slimmy

I have a coolmaster heatsink w/ heatpipes and i just used the thermal paste that came with it. My 2500+ ( not moble) gets kinda toasty when i turn it to 11x210 w/ vcore of 1.75. It hits 59c while running prime for awhile:mad: Also idle temp is 42c cpu and 20c mobo at 11x205 and 1.7vcore.

So my question is how much better will the artic silver 5 help me out?
Just a guess or from experience would be nice. Tanx

So how hot should i let my 2500+ get before it is to hot?

Or maybe i should just start saving for watercooling:D

Seen one on newegg for 100 skins. ( i think )

your probably actually safe up to about 80C (not recomended though) i would start to worry about anything over 60C....your load temp is quite a bit high, what kind of fan do you have on your heatsink? what is your case temp when under load? and how many case fans do you have and what size are they?

Also which coolermaster heatsink do you have?

Last edited:
you cant go wrong with the as5. The cooler you can get that thing to run, the better it will run.

I have about 3 sucking in air and 3 pushing out "all standard size i think" and 1 pci slot blower. The mobo says 20c idle and at most i have ever seen was 22c with full load. House temp now is about 67f ( don't know what that is in celsius).

Right now running at 11x205 w/ vcore at 1.7 load hits about 49 to 51c, but i want to oc more to 210fsb at 1.75 which inturns heats this pig up:eek:

I already order some artic silver 5 from newegg should be here monday.

I had an uncle buy an sp 94 and fan which cost him a fair chunk of change. I don't want to pay that much for a heatsink. But maybe for cheap water setup.