• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How much overclocking can I do to this hardware?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ph0sphorousgobu

Hello, ocforums. I am new to overclocking, but not to computers in general (for instance, I built the box I'm typing this on). After reading several hours worth of overclocking guides and lurking on various overclocking forums, I've decided that I might be interested in overclocking my machine. Unfortunately, some of my sources seem to offer conflicting data. So, I wish to ask you guys how overclockable my hardware is, and if there are any problems specifically associated with overclocking any specific component that I need to know about.

Below, I list my hardware and the details as CPU-Z gave them to me.

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3400+ Newcastle socket 754 processor, clocked at ~2400 MHz.

Cache:
L1 Data Cache-64 KBytes, 2-way set associative/64-byte line size
L1 Instruction Cache-64 KBytes, 2-way set associative/64-byte line size
L2 Cache-512 KBytes, 16-way set associative/64-byte line size.

Motherboard: ASUS K8VSE Deluxe
This is where I'm a little concerned. Today, I read somewhere (http://wiki.extremeoverclocking.com/wiki/Athlon_64_Overclocking_Guide) that a PCI/AGP lock is crucial to overclocking, because you risk corrupting hard drive data if your PCI speed is too fast. While most motherboards have this lock, Via chipsets (like my mobo has) have been known to have faulty PCI locks. They said that anything from KT800 or lower has this problem. According to CPU-Z, my chipset is "K8T800 (VT8383)". Do you think this one is still a trouble-maker?