• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to Gain Root Access on a Sprint Htc Hero CDMA phone Using a Mac.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hamspiced

Ill post this here since i had the worst time trying to find out how to do this.

I repeat myself alot, but its to reiterate points. I dont post many build logs on here because i really dont have time to constantly check all the forums im on and the forums that i run, but i want the information to be readily available to everyone. Ill do my best to help troubleshoot issues.

This guide will work for anyone running Mac OSx 10.6.1 and attempting to root a Sprint HTC Hero CDMA phone running the Android OS as of December 15th.

Alright,

A couple things to add to this guide, for the complete noob, as I can try to explain it a little more clear.

This should be done prior to doing anything within the guide.

First, connect your phone to your computer and mount your sd card. This can be done by connecting the usb cable, then on your phone, drop down the menu and chose, connect to p.c., Mount SD card. Make a folder and backup your entire sd card to this folder. Once done, delete everything off the card. if you don't, you will run into format and partitions errors later in the guide.

Eject the sd card on the computer, and end usb sharing on the phone. remove the USB cable from the computer.

Next, on the phone Go to Settings > Applications > Development>USB Debugging

Make sure that USB debugging is NOT CHECKED. If its checked later in the guide you will run into errors pushing the files onto the phone.

Rooting The HTC HERO Process

Plug in your phone

Download Android SDK: http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html