• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

how to install programs in Ubutu

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dusnoetos

Today I installed Ubuntu 8.10 on my laptop...

I think I like it...But I cant figure out how to install new programs...Particularly OpenOffice 3.0

I can download it just fine but from there I have know idea what needs to happen.
I know that this may be a dumb question but I am still learning Linux.

well if you are new to linux I would avoid downloading Tarballs.

For ubuntu new programs are easy to install. If you want to do it without the Terminal go to
System> Administration > Synaptic Package Manager

In there is a whole whackload of programs with descriptions and it even has a search function.

I personally install things the following. I figure out what I want to do for example burning a dvd, I go to google and type "burn dvd ubuntu" and once I pull up the package name I open a terminal and type

Code:
sudo apt-get install k3b
or whatever burning program I have chosen.

Building from source isnt hard but it may be intimidating for the new user. If you want the Windows click and install method, you are looking for files that end it_ .deb _ these are files that you can double click and hit install

ext3 doesn't fragment much. It's generally not necessary to defrag in Linux. I have never found a utility that did.

Also, if you have a SSD, don't ever defrag it. It doesn't speed it up and it redcues its life.