• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

In the market for a new router

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jokers_greg

Hey guys, I can't pretend like I know much about networking so I'm sorry if I come across as a noob here. I'm in the process of building my friend a new rig, and he decided he also wants to get a new 802.11n router. I'll have to verify model # and whatnot, but he has a modem/router (all-in-one sort of thing) as well. We wants to connect that modem/router to a new wireless N router which will be broadcasting the LAN signal downstairs, while the modem/router broadcasts upstairs.

Firstly, How can this be done, and does it require certain models?
Secondly, which wireless N router should I buy, keeping these priorities in order:
1)signal strength
2)signal reliability
3)speed

Lastly, if the above set-up can be done, can the two routers be connected via wireless signal? or do they have to be wired.

Thanks for your time.

Cool thanks guys, I just came across the wikipedia article a couple of minutes ago.
I dont think the DGL has DD-WRT capabillities according to this site: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#Linksys

In short, what are the advantages of DD-wrt (especially for casual home networking use) He'll have his PS3/printer connected via wire to the router/modem and his main PC connected to the new router. He has two laptops that need to be able to access wifi at all points in his house

One of the advantages of DD-WRT is that it gives him/you more control and "tweakability"..lol over the router itself. You could tweak the singal strength, limit bandwidth to certain IP's, and a boat load of other goodies...