• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intel i7 2600K high temps

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DVPeer

After using my PC for more than a year my idle CPU temps have gone from 34 C to 45 C. Since this is my first build i'm worried that I did something wrong. I also get very different readings from a program like Realtemp or Core temp than from ASUS AI suite II that came with my motherboard.

Intel i7 2600K 3.60 ghz
Stock Cooler(I know)
realtemp/prime95 CPU cool down test attached

Attachments

• Knipsel.PNG
    Knipsel.PNG
    15.4 KB · Views: 93
What does CPU-Z show as the Vcore (Core Voltage) both at idle and while running Prime? And the temp. differences are the result of Ai Suite reading Tcase / CPU Temp ( case temp. measured by a thermal diode located within the CPU die between the cores), and Real Temp or Core Temp reading Tjunction (core temp's read by digital thermal sensors located within each core).

have you opened the case to CLEAN the fans, CLEAN the dust out, CLEAN the heatsink off?? what about your thermal paste? was it the stock crap that came with the intel chip/cooler?

also, hwmonitor gives low and high settings for heat and volts... nice feature. a screeny of cpuz CPU tab while under load would be nice too.

What does CPU-Z show as the Vcore (Core Voltage) both at idle and while running Prime? And the temp. differences are the result of Ai Suite reading Tcase / CPU Temp ( case temp. measured by a thermal diode located within the CPU die between the cores), and Real Temp or Core Temp reading Tjunction (core temp's read by digital thermal sensors located within each core).

Thanks, the idle Vcore stays around 1 V but when running Prime it goes up to 1.216 max. After a while the core speed decreases and the voltage changes very quickly.

Attachments

• idle.PNG
    idle.PNG