• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is it worth it? (newb question)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

R_Pierce

Hello guys, Im fairly new to this whole OC'ing thing. I currently have a Cryorig R1 Ultimate air cooler on an OC'd i5-6500 (non-k). I have it set at the following (as stable temp wise as I could get without crossing 70*c package temps)

BCLK : 148
Multiplier : 32 (stock)
Vcore Voltage : 1.385

Under bench marking I get package temps a max of 67*c / stress testing (Prime95 running for an hour) I get package temps a max of 58*c

My question is, would an AIO 280mm or 360mm help at all? Or am I already flirting with max stability on this chip (at current voltages/clock)?

Thanks in advance!!

There is absolutely no need of better cooling in your case: you're well safe up to the high 80's at such voltage.

High 80's package temps? Not core temps. I was reading that 70*c was the max safe temp for package temps?

Also by removing the aide panel to my case, I dropped 3-4*c alone. So I'll try repositioning my fans (more of them pulling air out instead of forcing it in)

High 80's package temps? Not core temps. I was reading that 70*c was the max safe temp for package temps?

Also by removing the aide panel to my case, I dropped 3-4*c alone. So I'll try repositioning my fans (more of them pulling air out instead of forcing it in)

That's for AMD FX processors. Intel goes all the way up to 100c before throttling.

What CPU bench do you recommend? Still playing around, but using Cinebench R15 right now. And then also testing with Prime95.

I personally wouldn't go beyond 80c-85c in core temps. Once you hit the 85c-90c, you will start to degrade the chip's longevity, slowly but surely.