• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Issue involving standoffs on b450m max build / aerocool cylon rgb case

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

magicnut

Hello to start with I am a novice computer builder , with this being my first build
I have used a old 2600k for many years (since 2011)which was prebuild from cyberpower and I did upgrades myself involving changing gpu / installing ssd /adding ram etc but I never built a full system until this.

My specifications are as follows:
Aerocool Cylon RGB Mid tower
MSI Tomahawk b450m MAX MOTHERBOARD

Ryzen 3600x
Rx 5700 XFX
1tb NVME WD Black
Corsair cx650m

Now lets talk about the issue::shock:
I assembled the computer myself using tools at hand , the case came with 4 standoffs installed.
As mentioned the mobo model is tomahawk b450m max (FULL ATX MOBO , on aerocool cylon rgb midtower case.
Its a full atx mobo that has 9 standoff holes.
I installed the other 5 standoffs in my case using some pliers (which tool btw is more appropriate to use? I have read that you can just screw them in by hand but this is impossible since they dont turn due to too much friction requiring some force).
After the standoffs were installed I have pressed in the io shield as snug as I could and proceded to install the motherboard..But to my avail it was impossible to align the standoffs so that screws can be actually screwed in in all the holes!:drool::confused::-/ The are simply EVER SO SLIGHTLY(although I SHOULD POINT OUT the margin that the standoffs are off vary on all the 3 missaligned standoffs. 2 are off very slightly maybe less than a mm the third one is off i'd say almost 2mm) off so that the screw is unable to be tightened in.
I was able to screw in 6 out of the 9 standoffs that the board is suppose to sit on and the other 3 just dont align.