• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Just abit of help/advice on upgrading my system.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Justjohn101

Hi all, looking for some advice on upgrading my pc. Im a bit of a noob and recently bought a new case for my pc and after swapping all the parts from my old to new for the first time its really made me want to start upgrading.

I currently have...
Intel pentium dual G3220
Msi military class 4 H81M-P33
Asus GTX650 Ti
CiC 700ub PCU
Seagate barracuda 1TB 7200rpm
Ballistix 8GB sport DDR3

It can fit 7 case fans which are all being used, 5 being controlled by a nzxt sentry 2 fan controller so theres plenty of cooling support for when I do upgrade. The main purpose is for gaming both gpu and cpu intensive and I would also like to not have to think about upgrading anything else after for some decent time.

My PSU was first on my mind to change as it is cheap and poorly rated. Was thinking 600w + and upto £80. Next i was thinking of a Intel i5 4690k £174, first I was thinking the i7 but after research I don't think the benefits for £100 extra are worth it for me. A new MOBO upto £100 and a solid state drive.

Finally the GPU here I'm not to sure what to get but I'm willing to spend upto £300 maybe slightly over. Maybe a gtx 970. Basically I would just like some help/advice, I've only recently started learning about computer hardware so I have basic knowledge but not a massive amount. One last thing it will be Intel not AMD (nothing against them just a personnel preference) so please only answers based on that. Thanks for any replies.

Last edited:
EDIT: Welcome :)
CiC 700ub PCU
Sounds like a CiT or similar, ditch it before it blows, taking your drives with it!

Seasonic/XFX are easy to come by and solid, 550W should be fine with the i5 and 970.