• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

MSI 7870 Hawk Running Hot

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

killxjoy15

I recently built a computer with a MSI Radeon 7870 Hawk. The first card I received had some really strange issues. Eventually I RMA'd the card for a new one. So I have been using this new card for awhile and hadn't really seen issues.

Recently though I started playing Star Wars: The Old Republic and my GPU temps were sky rocketing and eventually I had to start running a frame limiter and run the game at 45 FPS just to run in the 80C range. At first I figured it was just something related to the game and my card. Now though I'm starting to play Planetside 2 and the card runs around 90C when I'm not in any action and gets close to 105C when in battles, sometimes getting close to 110C.

I do run the card with some overclock but it really isn't much (1200MHz GPU and 1300MHz memory) and I haven't touched the voltage settings at all. I tried removing the overclock and it didn't seem to have any effect on the temperatures. I could turn the graphics settings down in the game but with the power this card has it should be able to play most games with max settings. It seems like there is more of an issue going on than with this one game.

I noticed the card seems to be running quite hot during idle. Right now with just Chrome open it's idling at 55C while my CPU and motherboard temps are 32C and 29 C respectively. Even with just chrome open and my GPU fans running at 100% the temps haven't gone below 46C.

http://img839.imageshack.us/img839/5517/gpumonitor.png
The link above is an SS of my Afterburner hardware monitor after playing PlanetSide 2 for around 30 minutes and then letting the computer sit for awhile after closing the game.