• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My PC won't boot all the way anymore

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ryancc

Greetings,

This is my first time posting, so I hope I am in the right spot. I did read the Forum's troubleshooting guide as well but I think my problem is beyond what is mentioned in there.

I have a Gateway Media Center (842GM). It has windows XP Home edition, 3ghz CPU, 2gb memory, 8600 gts nvidia graphics card, sound blaster, DVD rom, rewrittable rom, hard drive, network card ... etc

I'll start from the very beginning. I recently purchased a game from the store the other day (It comes in CD format). I put the disc in my PC and started the installation. At some point during the installation it came up and told me it couldn't read the game's expansion file. So I went to the game maker's website and they suggested I copy the contents of the discs onto my hard drive, reboot to Safe Mode and install the game manually from there. Which I did without problem. However, when I tried to reboot back into normal windows, that is when I started having problems.

Now my PC won't boot all the way anymore. Upon rebooting, I'll see the "Intel Logo" and the option to enter the BIOS (which doesn't work anymore), then it'll come up and say "We apologize for the inconvenience, but windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change might have caused this. If your computer stopped responding, restarted unexpectedly, or was automatically shut down to protect your files and folders, choose Last Known Good configuration to revert to the most recent settings that worked. If a previous startup attempt was interrupted due to a power failure or because the power or reset button was pressed, or if you aren't sure what caused the problem, choose Start Windows Normally."