• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My Surface Pro Review....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

elcid79

Surface Pro - Review

I am writing a review on the new Microsoft Surface Pro – 128GB that I picked up from reservation on launch day. Before I start I want to tell you all a little bit about myself. I graduated college with a BS in Computer Science. I went to graduate school in a vastly different field, and have been working in that field since 2006. I currently use a windows desktop, windows laptop, macbook, and an iPhone. I have owned several now retired Android devices.

The MS Surface is designed as a reference design for Windows 8 hybrid / tablets. In that regard it succeeds, with a few caveats. I will spare you information on the dimensions, storage capacity, connectivity etc. This review will simply focus on my personal experiences with this device over the first week. Including benchmarks, on the new 3DMark (2013). I will start with the negatives, and there are only a few. Firstly, its not exactly a light Tablet. It does have a bit of weight, and is somewhat awkward to hold, however I am fairly strong, and have big hands so this does not bother me one bit. The more that I use it, the more I get used to it. I could imagine it being an issue for someone with a smaller build. Many people have complained about using the device on your lap, I find this to be very easy to do, and do not understand the complaints. Is it as easy as a full clamshell laptop, no but it is certainly not “difficult.”