• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My timing vs speed on OC'd computer?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

j.reddick

If you want to skip my really long post, I bolded the question below. Thanks guys!

Hey, I'm new to overclocking and I just overclocked my first system. I've gotten it to run stable in two different configurations and I'm just not entirely positive which one is better over all. I'll describe everything and the stuff that I have.

500W Xclio power supply
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Brisbane 2.2GHz Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor
Kingston 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
BIOSTAR TForce TF720 A2+ AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA nForce 720a ATX AMD Motherboard
Gigabyte GeForce 8800 GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 (Not really important, I'm not overclocking. It came with a core clock of 725mhz)

I'm not on my desktop at the moment, so I can't grab pictures of the bios overclocking, but everything is about the same as what seems to be normal except one thing. When I looked for a memory divider, the only thing that I seem to have found is memory clock, which is set to auto by default. At auto, CPU-Z identifies the ram at 400 MHz. The stock settings are 5-5-5-18 and T2. When I change the CPU Frequency (200Mhz by default) up by 1 MHz, the memory clock goes up by 2 MHz at the default settings.

When I change the memory clock to manual, it gives me four options; 200 MHz, 266 MHz, 333 MHz and 400 MHz. I set it to 200 MHz to see what it does, and at that setting, and if I set the CPU frequency to 250, the memory speed is then at 250, so this appears to be the divider.