• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need advice on some upgrades to my PC.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bonepants

BUILD:

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H ATX LGA1155 Motherboard
Memory: Patriot Gamer 2 Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
Storage: Sandisk Extreme 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Video Card: Gigabyte Radeon HD 7970 3GB Video Card
Case: NZXT Phantom 410 (White) ATX Mid Tower Case
Power Supply: Cooler Master Silent Pro M2 1000W 80+ Silver Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply

Hey guys,

I am a newbie around here but hope to become good friends :) .This is my current build right now and I am looking to upgrade it.

What would you guys recommend? Reason I am upgrading is because I am going to be getting a new better monitor set up and I know it will tax my baby so I wanted t upgrade it a bit.

I got a substantial bonus from work recently so budget is flexible. Right now I am using a Dell U2913WM 29" 1440p 60hz (OCed to 80~) and a 24" 1080p 5 ms LG. I will most probably be upgrading to a 3 x 24" or a 27" Korean IPS or some sort of mixture of these.

Any help is appreciated, :clap:

You should be able to overclock that 3570K to at least 4.2Ghz easy. That setup of yours is more than capable to run any monitor you use.

If you want to upgrade over the need to upgrade, then I would just upgrade the video card. Going to a triple monitor setup will tax the Vram on your current card, so choose a video card with more Vram.

A larger/current SSD will speed things up as well.

I have the 7970 WF3 edition clocked @ 1100/1500 on a 40" and evrything maxed out and my card doesn't even flinch :thup: