• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need feedback on upgrading of a Q9400 system

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Yettyn

Greetings all! Guess this must be 7th or 8th time I’m upgrading my system but to be honestly I have lost count and it has been a few years since I did something major like this. Still, even if not being a noob on building, some feedback would be greatly appreciated. Also, I have never done it like this before, asked for advice :bang head I will keep some parts of old system, both due to quality and budget. I usually do this if possible to allow me focus on quality as much as possible. Below I have answered questions matching the template Knufire use to post in treads, so he doesn’t have to do that again;-)

What will I use this system for?
I seldom have time for gaming any longer, but if I have I still enjoy playing Age of Empire – those where the days ;-) But this rig isn’t necessarily for gaming. Instead, besides being something of a digital omnivore I typically need to have 2-3 VMware Workstation containers running (with loads of snapshots), together with 1-2 instances of Visual Studio (both VS6 and 2010) for software development and testing. So RAM is certainly of importance, not sure if i5/i7 makes any difference there?

Due to some strange click habit I also surprisingly often find a need to have 15, 20 if not 30 tabs open in my FF browser. Well I like to have things going on and also enjoy loading a good movie or tv-show now and then.

My budget?
Converted from my local currency Czech Crowns, it’s about $8-900

1. Does it include Windows? No, already have it.
2. Does this include peripherals? No, will use what I have.

Location?