• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need Help Deciding on Z97, X99, or Xeon Platform for Image Editing and Gaming

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

johnson5067

Hello everyone. This is my first build and I'm at a point where I've researched as much as I can but I still cannot determine what the best platform is for my needs. The computer will primarily be used for my wife's wedding photography business. She usually edits batches of ~1000 images in Lightroom, but also uses Photoshop, Illustrator, and inDesign a little bit on the side. I will be using this computer to play Minecraft, so nothing super GPU intensive in terms of gaming. From what I can tell the priority for us is going to be CPU and RAM. Budget for this build is ~$3000 and I don't want to go any bigger than a microATX motherboard. (I'm pretty set on the Corsair air 240 because I really like the design and we are limited with respect to space for the computer.)

After some initial research, I landed on the i7-4790k and put together a potential parts list around the Z97 platform. I asked for some feedback on Tom's Hardware, but posting there hasn't been super helpful to me, hence why I'm here! I had one guy say the 4790k would be fine but another saying I absolutely had to go with a Xeon in order to build a proper workstation. I did some more research on Xeons and workstations. I wouldn't say my wife's business requires "mission critical" hardware but I do understand the argument that workstation components are built to be more reliable and run 24/7 (ECC RAM in particular). I also understand that Xeons have an added benefit that they do not contain integrated graphics, since I'm already planning on having a dedicated (mid-level) GPU.