• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help oc 7850k

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

grifos

Registered
Hi to everyone. I have an A10 7850k at 3.7 Ghz and a mobo Asrock A88m G/3.1. I want to oc the proccesor but I am total newbie to the whole OC subject. I have searched through the forum but I didnt find any tutorial for noobs. Anyone willing to help? I want an oc at normal framework not extreme situations :)
Pc specs:
Case: Z9 Neo Black
Cpu: Amd A10 7850k 3.7Ghz
Gpu: Radeon 7870 x2 crossfire
Mobo: Asrock A88m G/3.1
PSU: 750watt
RAM: 8GB 2400mhz
CoolerMaster Nepton 120xl
Thanks in advance!

The 7850K is already pushing it's limits at stock, I see you have a decent cooler not great but OK. You can likely get a small OC just by upping the multiplier in the BIOS and leaving the voltage on auto. I would start there. Once in Windows check stability with Prime95 and watch your temperatures with AMD Overdrive just don't use it to overclock. AMD OD is one of the more accurate for the AMD APUs for monitoring the temperatures but it gives you a distance to max not an actual temperature.

I am really glad you answered! Thanks a lot. When you say a bit you mean for example at 4.0-4.5 ?

Probably in that range. I have a 7870 here but it's been a while since I tinkered with it. I just remember that the voltage requirements went up quite fast. Try setting it to 40x and see if it'll boot. If it does test it a bit and post some pics of the CPUz CPU and memory tabs and a pic of AMDOD with it under load. That'll give us a good idea of where you are sitting for temps and voltages

cpu.png
It booted up normally but when I opened a game to see whats going on, the fps dropped enormously.... It was so laggy

- - - Updated - - -

Also cpu usage is always at 100%. Dont know if that is ok..

- - - Updated - - -