• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help Overclocking AMD FX-4100 Quad-Core

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

HeavyMetal1021

Registered
MyComputerSetup.jpg

I need some advice overclocking my AMD FX-4100 Quad-Core. I have already done a simple overclock to 4ghz in the BIOS for my ASRock 970 Extreme4 motherboard. But, when I try to go any higher I get a BSOD. I'm new to overclocking and these forums. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!

System Information :
Processor : AMD FX-4100 Zambezi Quad-Core 64-bit 3.6ghz(Overclocked to 4ghz).
Motherboard : ASRock 970 Extreme4 AM3+ with SATA 6gb/s and USB 3.0 and UEFI BIOS.
Memory : 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 SDRAM.
Case : Rosewill Challenger U3 Black Gaming case with e-sata, USB 3.0, three 120mm front and side blue LED fans and one 140mm top fan.
Video Card : SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6670 1GB DDR3.
Sound Card : SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Platinum.
PSU : Apevia Iceberg 680watt with adjustable fan speed, color mode switcher and see through siding.
Optical Drive : HP CD-RW/DVD-RW Lightscribe Multi-Recorder R-DL.
Hard Drives :
-One 500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM SATA with Windows 7 – Ultimate – 64-bit installed on 200GB Partition(sda1) with the other 300GB Partition(sda2) for Media Storage.
-One 160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM SATA with Windows XP SP3 for storing Game Install Files.
-One 250GB Western Digital Caviar 7200RPM SATA for extra storage and backups.
:comp::attn:

Last edited:
#1 Welcome to the forums.:welcome:

#2 Full screen captures of un-needed information make the actual informative window too small to read well.

#3 Your Vcore is too too low to run much faster.

#4 This is how best to get everyone on the same page with the type information we use to help tune-up just about every user that walks thru the door wanting to overclock.