• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help with SAS raid card and expansion

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

CGfreak102

Registered
So, i am in a dire need to re-do my current setup for my plex server. Currently, i have it all running threw my main gaming rig, and i have maxed out my sata ports, plus using two external USB drives -- the worst part is i am not utilizing any raid, and that is killing me.

I have a total of 7 - 2 TB drives almost full of content.

I am looking to upgrade them to 4TB drives, if i can afford it i will get the HGST ones.

I am relatively new to the enterprise raid environment and am hitting a small wall about planning things out. So my goal is to get a system setup that i can constantly expand as i need it. I also have my content split into two main categories, TV shows and Movies. And ideally i would like to make two different raid volumes for that. I am thinking to go with raid 10 for my setup, it would be more costly, but i am not big on the parity thing -- but that can change.

I also want to plan for the future, as 4k is coming and the total space i will need will need to expand.

So i have come down to three different raid controllers, all from LSI (my cloud infrastructure/server teacher loves them)
http://store.lsi.com/index.cfm/MegaRAID-Controllers/12Gb-SAS-9300-Adapters/LSI00406/
http://store.lsi.com/index.cfm/MegaRAID-Controllers/6Gb-SAS-9260-RAID-Controllers/LSI00197/
http://store.lsi.com/index.cfm/MegaRAID-Controllers/12Gb-SAS-9300-Adapters/LSI00408/