• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need Help With This 9700k

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MrSix18

Registered
So let me first start of by saying im relatively new to this, I OC'd my 8700k prior to this one but since I was late to the party, they had already took all the 8086k chips out and left me with loosing the silicon lottery by a marginal amount but since it was my first K cpu, I figured id return for ______ reason and try my luck on another one. After doing that a few times and ending up with horrid cpu's as far as overclocking goes, I decided to stick it out and when the 9700k released I was going to just give the 8700k to a friend of mine who needed it in the worst way.

now that I have this 9700k im having some issues that I cannot get figured out. I managed to get a 5Ghz overclock at 1.320 Vcore with LLC set to turbo (gigabyte/aorus mobo's have in this order, Auto-Normal-low-medium-high-turbo-extreme-and one more above that I cannot remember) the problem was I would pass Prime95 at small FFT's with above average temps but still well within the OK range since its basically a burn test with max temps, but as soon as my vcore would drop, I would loose 100% load on my 4th or 5th core. but if my vcore would stay at the 1.320 I would always be good but that vdroop killed me every time. When I would run Blend after that, temps NEVER 70-71 degrees and again would run flawlessly until that vcore drop would hit and I would loose 100% load on one single core only.