• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need some advice on my build/upgrade

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ossadtchii

Registered
Hey forum.

I'm here to ask you the more experienced people about your opinions regarding my current build.

So i have sold my old i7-930 and a Asus rampage iii extreme today and ordered new parts for my system.
I'm planning on using pretty much all of my old components except for my cpu, motherboard and maybe ram as being a student i cant afford a whole new system from scratch (hence not going for 2011 socket and not seeing any big advantages in ivy bridge over sandybridge)Anyways.

So this is how things should look in my upcoming build/upgrade.

-Antec 1200
-Asus MAXIMUS IV EXTREME-Z s1155 Motherboard
-Intel Core i7-2600K s1155
-Noctua NH-D14
-Corsair Dominator GT 6GB (3x2GB) 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 1.65v (CMT6GX3M3A1600C7)
-MSI N680GTX twin frozr 2gd5/oc
-OCZ Agility 3 60gb SSD for OS
-OCZ Agility 3 128GB SSD for Games
-Samsung 7200rpm 500gb hdd for storage
-750Watt PSU

So i'm wondering will this work out? i'm personally having my doubts about my ram! i heard from other people that 1.65v is not recommended for sandybridge? also its a triple channel ram. isn't dual channel ram better for 1155? Just wondering because those sticks where great for my 1366.

The rest looks okay for me i did a 4.0ghz oc on my 930 (1,23v)but i plan going way higher on the 2600k because its runs cooler! is 4,5-5,0 doable with this setup? (i know its cpu dependent).

Being a game developer and huge fan of gaming and live streaming it's important that i can do these things.

Looking forward to your advice guys.
Also excuse me for my lack of good English grammar (Dutch)