• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Build Questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MrDrudgeon

As you can probably tell, I am quite new around here and I have joined looking for a community of people who care about the craft and are willing to offer feedback on potential builds. Beyond feedback for my build, I am looking for a community willing to assist me when I fell confident enough to overclock. I did some research as well as read through some forum posts and you guys seem to have exactly what I am looking for. So congrats on having a strong community feel. Now to the meat and potatoes. I am looking to purchase and build my own computer for the first time. My background is that in high school (I'm only 22 so not that long ago) I took vocational classes in Computer Systems Technology where we focused alot of our efforts on Hardware. I have unboxed and built new computers before, but never for myself and they were always spec'ed by the school. We always had a project every year to spec a computer given a budget ranging from 500USD to 3500USD, one year we even had an unlimited budget, some crazy rigs came out of that.. So working inside a computer is familiar territory, as well a researching parts. I am now at a point in my life where the amount of money I am making is beyond my cost of living so I finally have the opportunity to complete my dream for the last 8yrs and build my own rig. I have set a limit of 3500USD dollars and priced one out for near that and I would like to seek feedback on what I could do better on so Here is my List:

Case: Thermaltake Level 10 GT (VN10001W2N) Black SECC / Plastic ATX Full Tower Computer Case with Four Fans-1x 200mm Colorshift