• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New member wanting advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Devon202

Registered
Hello,

I am fairly new to the overclocking scene. So I have a few questions on how to start overclocking.

Here is my current setup:

AMD FX6100 socket AM3+
GTX 560TI 2gb (second video card is on its way as I type this)
8 gb DDR3 1866 (14900)
ASUS Sabretooth 900fx mobo with current BIOS version
Samsung SSD
Windows 7 64bit
Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced case

Stock cooling

I understand the basic principle and I am currently shopping to upgrade my CPU cooler to a Cooler Master GeminII S524 before I start OCing anything.
Where I am getting confused is in the voltages.
If there is anything that I can read or if there is anything that one of the pros can tell me that will help me to understand the OCing process as a whole, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.
Rob

Welcome to the forums ........

You can start here ....... http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=688663

You might want to rethink your cooling. I am not that familiar with the FX6100 but generally we recommend you look for real good cooling as these puppies generate allot of heat. The coolermaster Gemini II S524 is below that of an H50 which generally gets a thumbs down ...... just some food for thought.

Thank you for that advice, I need that.
Tired of making mistakes in purchasing equipment.
Any advice on what cooler I should be looking at?

Thank you for that advice, I need that.
Tired of making mistakes in purchasing equipment.
Any advice on what cooler I should be looking at?