• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New PC build soon - Comments ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mobriskie

Hello, I am new to Overclockers forums although I have been to the site many times.

I'm am about to build up a new PC, I thought I'd list the components so far and see if anyone has any suggestions. I'm upgrading from an AMD Athlon X2 on a Asus Crosshair MoBo with Crucial Ballistix Tracer memory and a BFG Geforce 8800 GTS 512M.

Here is what I have thus far for the new system (plan to start assembly in a couple of weeks when I get some time off). My choices on brands or models came either from good past experience or recommendations and good reviews. I'm hoping I have the components of good build in the making and didn't screw up anywhere.....but always looking for advice !

• Antec Nine Hundred Gaming case (love the airflow through these)
  • Asus Crosshair IV Formula
  • AMD Phenom II 1090T 6 core 3.2Ghz
  • Thermalright Venomous X BLACK CPU cooler
  • Nanoxia FX12-1250 120x25mm Nano Technology Fan
  • 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
  • XFX 750 Watt Black Edition Power Supply
  • Video card --????
I have not selected a video card yet and I'm open to suggestions. My experience with ATI has been hit or miss while my experience with Nvidia has been always great and their stuff has never let me down. I've owned EVGA and BFG Nvidia cards with no issues and even cards going all the way back to Leadtek back in the Geforce 2 and Geforce 3 days. But... I am always open to any Video card suggestions.