• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to building computers.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Divaricate

I'm looking for some ideas and I'm new to this. Ive been trying to research how to begin building ones own computer or rebuilding it. So much info and costs vary as well. I guess I feel that I'm walking through a parts house not knowing what would get me by, what would be overkill and what would be perfect.

My current desktop is pretty old. I've replaced hardware when something needed replacing but that's about all.

This began when I decided I wanted to play skyrim for PC and when I looked at the requirements I thought the laptop would handle it...it did not. So I figured the desktop I use could be upgraded to support it and I know it'll need new parts. Problem is, as I've been reading, I'm not real sure that if I replace one part, what other parts might need replacing as well... make sense?

I figured I'd need a new processor, a new graphics card, memory too probably. Do motherboards factor in? See, I'm kinda lost.

I don't mind stumbling though a little and admit..yes I'm a beginner. I found one guy selling his gaming computer. I compared his stats and wondered..do I need all that? heres his stuff

I7 quad core Intel 3.9 GHz
32 gug 1600 mhz ram
nvidia 660TI graphics 2 gig mem
Z77 chipset
SSD for OS boot
2 TB harddrive- 6g's storage
corsair power 750w - 6 case fanes- cooler master heatsink & fan CPU

me (dont laugh)
pent r 4 cpu 2.40 ghz, 2.39 ghz, 512 mb ram
nvidia gforce FX5200

So I'm guessing his computer is top notch and I probably dont need all that. What could I replace and add to renew this old desktop?

Thanks for any help