• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Watercooling Rig. Comments, Suggestions Needed.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Schwag

Hey all, Im new to the forums but I've been up for about 12 hours straight researching what to put into my new gaming rig and this seemed like an excellent place to ask for a little advice. I'm not entirely new to watercooling but I'm no pro by any means so bare with me.

My current setup is an aging (oh alright, ancient) Abit IC7-MAX3 mobo, Pentium 4 [email protected], GeForce 6800GT, 2x WD Raptor 74Gig HDD, and 2 Gigs of Kingston HyperX DDR400 memory all in a Koolance PC2-650 case. Watercooling only the CPU and GPU i've had reliable temps of about 26C-35C at idle and load, respectively.

If you have read the above and are tearing up, opening your wallets and are about to donate money to the "Schwag Relief Fund" then I can't blame you. The setup is about 5 years old and has been quite good to me thus far. Its time for an upgrade however and this time around I'd like to push the envelope of "budget" performance like this rig did half a century ago. As well, i would like to take a crack at building my own water cooling loop. I like to assemble my computers by hand and creating my own water cooling system seems like an interesting challenge. Plus, Koolance systems look like crap anymore, and are way too expensive.

So here's the setup in mind, sorry for the long back story. Any comments or advice would be much appreciated.

Hardware for the new computer is as follows:
Motherboard: ASUS Striker II Extreme
CPU: Intel Core2Duo E8500 @3.16GHz
Memory: Kinston HyperX DDR3 1600MHz
HDD: 2xWD Raptor 74Gig in Raid0
GPU: PNY GeForce 9800GTX+ (would like to upgrade to SLI in the future)

Water cooling hardware: