• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie here, 955BE running at too high voltages?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Starshine

Hello there Overclockers!

I would like to get a little bit of expert opinion regarding undervolting a Phenom II x4 955BE and I found this forum in my google search for answers! :)

First I guess I should say while I consider myself fairly knowledgeable with PCs with both soft- and hardware I actually never touched the overclock menu of a BIOS let alone played around with software tools, so I'm entirely on newbie ground here which is why I want advice and this forum made a nice first impression to me^^

Recently I upgraded to my aforementioned Phenom II x4 955BE (Stepping 3 Revision RB-C3) on a GIGABYTE 870A-UD3 board and actually I'm really happy with it, on the stock settings it runs on about 36-38°C idle and while I haven't tested it on load yet regarding temps I actually don't have much of a problem.

Just, for my taste the stock HSF is a bit loud under load, not enough to warrant a aftermarket one, though I found out there's actually room for improvement, at least I think so. I read up that by default the 955 should run on a voltage of 1.325v but many people seem to manage something around 1.2xv which I heard would drop the heat a bit.

The thing is I noticed my 955 actually seems to run with 1.392v according to CPU-Z when in performance mode so I wondered if undervolting would help me anything on the noise level during load.

If so I would greatly appreciate any help of getting down to 1.2x volt levels or atleast the stock ones of 1.325v. I searched around and found Phenom MSR Tweaker which seems to do what I want from inside Windows but I figured I would ask before I turn my PC in a pile of rubble as a newbie :p

Thanks for anything in advance!