• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

NF7-S 2.0.. memory problems on power up

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ProfessorApe

Hi,

First off, I'm not a hardware expert. I know what plugs into what and how to buy stuff that's compatible, however, I know little about overclocking and nothing about dual channel memory. I assumed all DDR memory/mobos were dual channel. Anyway, on to my problem.

I recently bought an NF7-S 2.0 off ebay to replace my Gigabyte GA-7DPWDW-P. I have three sticks of 512MB memory, two identical sticks (Dell (Micron) PC2100 2.5v registered memory were installed in my Gigabyte board (it wouldn't start up with all three sticks installed). The GB board was stated to support both registered and unbuffered RAM, but won't accept the unbuffered memory, so I had to buy registered, which worked find. I don't know if it was running dual channel or not. The third is unbuffered memory, 512 MB, PC2100 2.5v.

I swapped my motherboards out last night, installed everything (all 3 sticks of memory) and powered up.. I get one long beep that is continuous. According to the Beep Codes sticky, it means the RAM isn't installed properly, which it is, after re-installing it several times in every slot. I installed each module separately in each slot. The Micron memory causes the long beep, regardless what slot it's in. The machine will only start up with the unbuffered memory installed.

Currently, I have the Unbuffered and 1 Micron installed (slots 1+3). On bootup and in the BIOS it only shows 512MB of physical memory. I have installed CPU-Z and Sandra 2007, both show the 1024MB but state that it's running in single channel mode. Windows XP sp2 also states only 512MB of physical RAM present, even though 1GB is installed.