• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

noob: Power supply, home wiring and safety

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

eco_bach

Building a 3GPU (3XTitan Xp's) PC for rendering. Based on initial research I guestimate almost 1000W under maximum load when rendering.

https://outervision.com/power-supply-calculator

Since I'm a total noob when it comes to things electrical and also because I live in an older building (no fuses, just circuit breakers) I thought it best to ask for feedback on safety.

Does 1000W sustained over long intervals (8-24hrs) pose any risk to typical, or even older home wiring?
I checked the circuit breaker box and can only see a rating of 100amp at the top of the box, nothing listed I can see at first glance, for individual switches.

Last edited:
Branch ccts for plugs will be 15amps (really only 12 80% of 15) so you have 1440w available from a 15amp cct total . So depending on what else is on that cct you should be fine .

a new 20 amp cct would let you have 1920

You might want to look at getting a hefty UPS just in case you trip breakers to allow you to gracefully shut the system down.

Branch ccts for plugs will be 15amps (really only 12 80% of 15) so you have 1440w available from a 15amp cct total . So depending on what else is on that cct you should be fine .

a new 20 amp cct would let you have 1920

oh he's fine....alot of the old stuff was still done well..and that usual smaller places 100-125a box plenty...why they put alot 20s in you can trip a 15 running bunch **** on it, it;s still pretty hard though lol

oh he's fine....alot of the old stuff was still done well..and that usual smaller places 100-125a box plenty...why they put alot 20s in you can trip a 15 running bunch **** on it, it;s still pretty hard though lol

pretty easy over 1500w will trip =)