• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Optimal Case Fan Config

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Caviman2201

Hey all, I have a Corsair Vengeance C70 case and I'm looking for advice on how to set up my case fans. I'm thinking of replacing the stock fans and Hyper 212 stock fan with Corsair fans for looks, but if I do it, I want to buy the right fans. I am new to the whole static pressure vs airflow thing and Corsair has a number of different 120mm fans:

A.) High Performance, High Static Pressure (3.1 mm/H2O), 62 CFM, 2350 RPM
B.) Quiet Edition, High Airflow, Low Static Pressure (0.5 mm/H2O), 40 CFM, 1100 RPM
C.) Quiet Edition, High Static Pressure (1.29 mm/H2O), 38 CFM, 1450 RPM
D.) High Performance, High Airflow, Static Pressure (1.1 mm/H2O), 63 CFM, 1650 RPM

Here's a pic of my case and the fans I want to add/replace:

fans.jpg

My thinking was the following, please correct me if I'm going about it all wrong:

Replace fan #1 with fan D
Add fan D to #2 spot
Replace Fan #3, #4 and #5 with fan A

My thinking was High Static Pressure IN and High Airflow OUT. Is this correct or am I way off base? :shrug:

Honestly... I wouldnt bother. Those fans are like $10-15+ each arent they? That is at least $50 for likely little gains...

You want high static pressure for things like heatsinks and radiators where its 'tough' to get through, and highairflow for things not a heatsink or a rad. :)

Hey all, I have a Corsair Vengeance C70 case and I'm looking for advice on how to set up my case fans. I'm thinking of replacing the stock fans and Hyper 212 stock fan with Corsair fans for looks, but if I do it, I want to buy the right fans. I am new to the whole static pressure vs airflow thing and Corsair has a number of different 120mm fans: