• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclock i7-920 or upgrade CPU?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

loulis

Hello! :)

I would like to raise the performance of my old machine and I would like your advice.

The specs of my PC:

Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD5 (Socket 1366) rev1.0 (BIOS F13)
CPU: Intel i7 920 @ 2.67GHz
RAM: 18GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz (9-9-9-24) [ 3 modules of 2GB Corsair CM3X2G1600C9 & 3 modules of 4GB Corsair CMX4GX3M1A1600C9 ]
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate (x64) SP1 Build 7601
GPU: Gainward GeForce 9400 GT
PSU: 625W Enermax MODU82+ EMD625AWT
Disk drives:
- 1TB Crucial CT1000MX500SSD1 (OS drive)
- 1TB SAMSUNG HD103SJ
- 3TB Seagate ST3000DM001-1ER166

I should state that I have no idea on OC, I am a total newbie and I have already made a disastrous attempt to OC. I had found somewhere someone posting his BIOS settings for the same mobo and cpu as mine in order to achieve 4.2GHz. I just entered the values into my BIOS. Result: Windows booted, then I had several error messages and after a few seconds BSOD. OC killed my SSD OS drive (Crucial MX500).

Now I have a new SSD drive. My question: Is OC safe? If I can *SAFELY* OC my CPU to 3.5-3.7GHz then I would like to try it. But if there is the slightest possibility to kill my SSD again then what CPU would you recommend me to buy? I do not want to spend more than 100euros.

Thank you very much in advance for your help! :)

Wow, they are a lot of fun to overclock,

I had that board back in the day, your going hit the 222 BCLK wall ........ it really blows

you can get in the 230's if you really push the PCIe bus like 125 ish .... :escape:

Be prepared to deal with a lot of heat , but loving the NB cooler on that board , it was epic