• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclockin Asus k8n sempron 2600+

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Redi

So im a totall newb but i saw this on my BIos jumper settings.
It was an option like this:Standard-Overclock 3%,5%,8%,10%.what is that?is it safe to use it?should i try with 3% see if it is stable and then go for 5%? whats the risk on it considering that my pc is quiet old.Btw the maual option on my bios doesnt allow me to change FSB or Voltage

The greatest problem maybe in that most systems configured a long time ago, are usually needing dust clean outs and CPU heatsink compound renewal and all of that just from having run a long time not renewed. So to ask that sort of condition to put up with overclocking can cause temps to rise dramatically since the AUTO overclock options are n0t skimpy on adding Vcore to make even a minor overclock work for the "masses" of the unknowing who might use the % numbers for an overclock.

So the following being true >> "maual option on my bios doesnt allow me to change FSB or Voltage", I think I would leave overclocking of older stuff to a time when you are ready and can afford to upgrade if an issue comes up that is not foreseen.
RGone...

its not that i use that Pc i was just going to try overclocking so are you saying that even a 3% auto overclocking would make it unstable?

Might and might not. Absolutely no way to know. Some of the cheap boards with Auto Overclock from years ago would not even do the 3% overclock due to ram used or some other variable. Try it and see what happens if you don't use it much. Only you can tell what is going to happen.
RGone...

I heard that Asus k8N motherboard are good for overclocking