• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OVERCLOCKING A P4 2.4 and AGP slot with a RADEON 9800 XT in it

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tucker75

Hi all

I am new to this overclocking game . I just brought a new better fan for the processor and one to keep case cool etc.... Advixe from a shop...

I need it in simple info as possibale laughs...

Anyway

I have

INTEL P4 2.4 mhz
MOTHERBOARD ASUS P4S8x
1.5 GB OF DDR 333 RAM in 3 x 512 mb
RADEON 9800 XT 256 DDR RAM 8x
HARD DRIVE 80GB
WINDOWS XP PRO

So any tips on to make my P4 2,4 run any faster upto say 2.9 even 3.0 my mothboard can go up to a P4 3.06..

Just a matter of interest could I buy a P4 3.06 mhz proceesor and overclock it would my MB cope with it?

Thank you

tucker75 said:
Hi all

I am new to this overclocking game . I just brought a new better fan for the processor and one to keep case cool etc.... Advixe from a shop...

I need it in simple info as possibale laughs...

Anyway

I have

INTEL P4 2.4 mhz
MOTHERBOARD ASUS P4S8x
1.5 GB OF DDR 333 RAM in 3 x 512 mb
RADEON 9800 XT 256 DDR RAM 8x
HARD DRIVE 80GB
WINDOWS XP PRO

So any tips on to make my P4 2,4 run any faster upto say 2.9 even 3.0 my mothboard can go up to a P4 3.06..

Just a matter of interest could I buy a P4 3.06 mhz proceesor and overclock it would my MB cope with it?

Thank you

heheh Becarefull with the 9800XT.

What 2.4 CPU do you have? There are 3 different ones 400, 533, and 800 bus. But yes, you should be able to O/C that system. Might not make 3 gig, but 2.8 gig is a good goal. First, make sure your mobo's BIOS allows you to lock the PCI/AGP to default speed. I have a 9800 XT and it does well in an overclocked system.

It is a P4 2.4 (400 bus)

nfact I have got it up to P 4 2.65 last night and running at that speed now... The temp at the moment is for the CPU is 35C