• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking AMD Phenom II 1100T X6 Black Edition [First Time OC'er]

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Eurafrica

As the title suggests I'm brand new to overclocking and would very much like to get the most out of the 1100T I purchased a year ago. Right now it's running at the stock 3.3 GHz but have read numerous posts stating it can be taken to 4-4.3 GHz with proper cooling/mobo.

I did try to read the guide on overclocking and understand it's easier with BE CPU's (multiplier vs FBS) but am still not confident enough to continue forward without some guidance. Assume I know nothing about overclocking!

System Specs:

GPU
2 x MSI N460GTX CYCLONE 1GD5/OC GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support ... (SLI'd)

PSU
1 x CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC ...

Mobo
1 x ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU
1 x AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition Thuban 3.3GHz, 3.7GHz Turbo Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor

Memory
1 x G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9Q-

Sound Card
1 x HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card

OS
Windows 7 x64

Is my system capable/safe hitting the 4GHz mark with my current PSU? Also, I am using the stock fan/heat sink with aftermarket thermal paste that ran me about $25 for the (small) tube.

Any and all help is appreciated, and thanks in advance

I am using the stock fan/heat sink = might do 3.6 stable with the stock cpu cooling.
RGone...