• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Overclocking an AMD Athlon 64 3200+

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Crazy_Catz

Registered
OK, I know my CPU is probably something Abe Lincon used and I have parts for a new mod coming. Until then, I was wondering if i could possibly get enough juice out of this thing to at least run something like BFH until I complete my mod. Also, seeing as Im fairly new to OCing, though it might my good to get alittle more experience before trying it on a Intel i7 970.

CPU ID screens.(dont know if you need to know all of that, just posted whatever I thought might be useful)

1hnk
1hnL

1hnn
1hnN

Using the stock cooler and Coretemp is reading about 35 idle and 40-45ish load.

Any help/links appreciated

Crazy

Last edited:
How are you creating the "under load" condtion? What are you monitoring your temps with? The standard we use around here is running the "Prime95" blend test for 10-15 minutes. If you haven't done that, please do so and report back to us what "HWMonitor" says is your max temp. If you want to overclock this CPU your max "core temps" will need to be under 55C. Not sure, however, if your CPU has a core temp sensor so we may have to make due with CPU (socket) temps. HWMonitor displays both CPU socket temps and core temps. This is a single core CPU, correct?

Last edited:
How are you creating the "under load" condtion? The standard we use around here is running the "Prime95" blend test for 10-15 minutes. If you haven't done that, please do so and report back to us what "CoreTemp" says is your max temp.

Ok, will do. I just went a rendered a big OpenSCAD file and recored the peak temp. Will post Prime95.

Crazy

Last edited:
Ok, I ran the "blend" test for 12 minutes. Core temp is still reading about 43-46C under 100% load.

Crazy