• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking Q8200, and general overclocking advise

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kristinn

Hi everyone,
I'm completely new at overclocking. I'm about to build a gaming system (for CoD4 and such), and I've come up with roughly what I'll get:

Motherboard: MSI P45 Platinum
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 @ 2,3 GHz
Graphic P.U.: ATI Radeon HD 4850
RAMemory: Corsair XMS2 DHX 2x2GB

I have read that the Quad core Intel is a challenge to overclock, but I'm basically wondering to what core frequency and Vcore you can safely overclock the CPU (and what Vcore is :p, like I said, I'm new at this). And I've also heard you can up the voltage over the CPU, but then maybe Vcore is short for the Voltage over the core.

Of course the capability for overclocking must depend on the power supply. If anyone can help me with that too, I'd be grateful. I've kind of zoomed in the Tagan BZ, but I need to decide between the 600W, 700W or 900W versions.

But when helping me with the choice of wattage, please consider that I am planning to get a second HD 4850 when the single one doesn't cope anymore, and CrossFiring. So the power supply will have to handle the overclocked Q8200, the usual stuff, and two (probably overclocked) ATI Radeon HD 4850.

One last question. When dealing with an overclocked Quad core CPU, is it enough to have a fan for cooling it? Or do I need a water-cooling system?

Anyway, thank you for reading, and thank you in advance for your advice and help:)