• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PC noise and heat while playing BF4 - where's it coming from? pics inc.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tom780ti

Hello, i'm not a massive PC tech guy so I need your help.

I play BF4 max settings on my PC with no lag or anything but my computer seems to be making a lot of noise and producing a lot of heat when I play it which came to surprise to me as I have the latest graphics card and water cooling etc.

My computer uses a Nvida 780ti Graphics card and an intel core i7-4770k CPU @ 3.50GHz with 8gb 1200Mhz RAM. I have a Cosmos Cool Master SE case.

My Graphics card reached up to 66 degrees, my CPU 44 degrees, motherboard 28 degrees, SSD 31 degrees and SATA 29 degrees. I got told this was good but it seems odd that the top of my computer gets so hot when playing BF4 and the loud noise over-rides the game-play sounds which doesn't make it fun to play.

I thought the noise/heat was from the graphics card but I'm not sure if it is now because I opened the side case and took a look inside - I think it's coming from the top fans of the computer in the picture provided. I'm not sure if they're case fans or part of the water cooling.

I opened up the side case and even though there was heat blowing out of the Graphics card, I don't think it was enough to make the top vents of the computer so hot.

http://tinypic.com/r/fn9uz7/8

http://tinypic.com/r/29vz2au/8

(Picture down below if link doesn't work)

Does everything seem normal and is there anything I can do about the heat and the noise?

Thanks for your time.

Last edited:
Smaller, higher rpm fans will be quite audible. Once things heat up, i.e. in BF4 at max settings on multiplayer for example, the fans speed up and get louder.