• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

?? Phase Change LN2 ??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

firstdegreeab

This might be a really stupid question, but why can't we use the same phase changing principals (single or cascade) on nitrogen??? I'm a total newbee to phase change, only reading forum's articles. Just a thought, PS i'm also lacking lots of sleep, but who here isn't. haha

Theoreticly, you can. But the machine would cost a fortune to build, and there are almost no CPUs that can handle the cold.

It is far easier to just pour LN2 into a copper container on the CPU.

Thanks for the quick resonse. Why do you say that most cpu's can't handle the cold, don't lots of people make ln2 pots? I know that this is for short duration but is it too cold for longer durations?

think of phase as refigeration and ALL levels of freezing.. ln2 is made by using a very complex multi stage cascade phase machine freezing NO2 gas.. I have only seen two attempts and building a cascade big enough and complex enough to hold -200C temperatures, one there honking huge, two they take kilowats to power, three they have been atempted and not yet done by cascade MASTERS, four its hard enough to get the gas needed build a single stage, five its just too dammed complicated comparied to using a pot and ln2 :D

btw. if it made sence to use a cascade like that, crotale would most likely have one or have acess to one.. :p

firstdegreeab said:
Thanks for the quick resonse. Why do you say that most cpu's can't handle the cold, don't lots of people make ln2 pots? I know that this is for short duration but is it too cold for longer durations?