• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Phenon II 940 boot problem with M2n32-SLI and Crucial Ballistix memory

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

xemnej

I decided to go to a Phenom II X4 940 and use it in my ASUS M2n32-SLI Deluxe (BIOS 2205), with Crucial Ballistix Tracer 800 (2 X 2Gb - I cant use both modules for 4 GB only 2 GB - tired everything). Everything worked fine, so I then decided to tinker with overclocking (I am new to OC). Things worked for a while, so of course I kept tinkering. Things worked out OK, I only OCed by about 10% and the machine shut down fine last night. However this morning the board will not boot to POST unless I clear the CMOS, and put in older memory. Once it boots and I change the date, time etc, the reboot never gets back to POST and then boot. However, should I not enter the info I can boot into the OS. I tried reflashing the BIOS and that did nothing. I have rebooted a number of times and unless I change the memory, clear the CMOS and boot at that point I cannot boot to POST and beyond that to the OS.

So has anyone run into this? Short of getting an ASUS M4A79 Deluxe AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX, which is likely my next step, is there anything I can do to solve the problem of getting the CPU to boot with the Crucial memory? Of course I would appreciate any help. The drives are good, the PS is good, no problems on the motherboard or anything like that. And as I said I am new to OC, so I don't pretend to be an expert. My thanks in advance.

you will prolly have to go in and manually set the crucial mem in the bios.
save settings and exit , turn it off put mem in then boot, go to bios and ensure settings are correct...
the ballstix like alot of power usually default is not enough...
hope this helps