• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Possible overclocking settings

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ex0r

I just recently built a machine with the following items:

gigabyte 970A-UD3 motherboard (unlocked)
AMD FX 6100 6 core processor (unlocked)
4x Corsair 4-5-5-15 4gb DDR3 1333 ram
Stock AMD FX Cooler
Thermaltake 650watt PSU

Does anybody have this same motherboard/cpu setup and have a good settings list to get this thing going? The bios for this motherboard has all the options for overclocking already, just not sure what exactly they should be set to, and don't want to set them too high and fry my system right from the get go.

I'm new to overclocking, as i've never had a system worth overclocking, so a little help would be much appreciated!

Welcome to the forums ex0r, you should be a little more specific on your thermal take psu and what case are you using? Though I don't have any experience overclocking a FX 6100 I can say you are going to be limited by the stock cooler. What are your goals with the overclock? Are you planning on just a mild one or are you going to try and push it more aggressively? This will help the people with more knowledge of this cpu guide you. Read the stickies, this will give you some knowledge on the process and the steps you need to take, reguardless of the processor. Also you are going to want to download cpuid
http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z/versions-history.html
http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor/versions-history.html

as well as prime 95

http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft/

you are going to run prime before you overclock to see what your starting temps are.