• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Q9650 Overclock Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

silent007

Hey guys.

First time on here and first time in the whole overclocking scene and I seem to be having problems. I was told to Overclock my q9650 from it's stock 3.0 to 4.2+. Problem i'm getting is that I cannot get it above 3.6 stable for some reson. Like I said I'm new at this and there for most likely doing something wrong. If anyone can help me out aht would be great.

The settings i have in bios right now are:

Cpu Ratio Setting: 9.0
FSB Freq: 400
pcie Freq: 100
fsb Strap: Auto
Dram Freq: 1066mhz
Dram Timing Control: MAnual
Cas# Latency: 5 Dram Clocks
Dram RAS# to CAS# Delay: 5 Dram Clocks
Dram RAS# PreCharge: 5 Dram Clocks
Dram RAS# Activate Precha: 15 Dram Clocks
RAS# to RAS# Delay :AUTO
ROW Refresh Cycle Time : 50 Dram Clocks
DRAM Static Read Control: Disabled
Dram Read training: Disabled
MEM.Oc Charger: Enabled
Ai. Clock Twister: Moderate

Volatges:
Cpu: 1.34375
Cpu Gtl Voltage Ref(0/2): .635
Cpu Gtl Voltage Ref(1/3): .625
Cpu pll Voltage: 1.56
Fsb Termination Voltage: 1.36
Dram Voltage: 1.96
NB Voltage: 1.40
NB Gtl Ref: .635
Sb Voltage: 1.10
Pcie Sata Voltage 1.50

Load line Calib: Enabled
Cpu Spread spectrum: Disabled
Pcie Spread Spectrum disabled
CpuClock Skew: Normal
NB Clock Skew Normal
Cpu Margin Enhancement: optimized

Those are all the setting I have changed not sure if they'r good or not.

Lastly my system specs are:

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9650 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.6GHz on Corsair H70 Water Cooler
Asus P5Q-Premium
4gb KINGSTON HYPERX KIT 2GB DDR2 1066MHZ
Hd 6970 2gb+ Hd 6950 2gb in Crossfire
Corsair HX750Watt PSU
Samsung f3 500 gb Hard drive
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1

Thank you in advance for any help.

Last edited: