• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Question regarding temps asrock 970a-g/3.1 with FX 9370 vs fx-8320 OC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Trollyy

Registered
I recently picked up a asrock 970a-g/3.1 for free and a fx-9370 that was pulled from a friends computer.. I was wondering if they are compatible or am i going to have problems with temps? I have a AIO CM Liquidmaster 240... The tdp of the fx-9370 being 220w and all and the motherboard not having sufficient vrm/cooling I know can be an issue.. Im currently running a fx-8320 at 4.2ghz, 1.365vcore, on a asrock 970 extreme4 motherboard with only a 4+1 phase vrm with a AIO CM Liquidmaster 240 and have spot fans cooling the socket/vrm and package/socket temps dont go above 55c. Vrm stays well under caution limits too.

I know on this asrock 970a-g/3.1 board I could theoretically overclock higher with sufficient cooling on my fx-8320.. but would running the fx-9370 be worth it? I know that this motherboard "technically" doesnt offer support for it and only has a cough cough *8+2* Doubled vrm..... what if i am just going to overclock the fx-8320 to 4.4ghz anyways? I can imagine the overclocking headroom of a 220w tdp fx9370 on that board would be very minimal if i can even run it at stock considering temps. Arent these things like space heaters? ... vs the fx8320. Thx for any input

asrock 970a-g/3.1
fx-9370 or fx 8320 oc
Crucial Ballistix sport DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600)
corsair 650psu (could be problematic when running fx-9370...?)
EVGA GTX 950 SC
Aerocool Striker-x bench case

Last edited:
You should be okay at stock frequencies and voltages at least. The board you reference has a 220W TDP and a 8+2 power phase rating and is probably more rugged than the extreme4 you are using.
http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/970A-G3.1/?cat=Specifications