• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Raid, is it working? How can I tell?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

leathersmt

I just installed a new raid card,, and two hardrives, how do I know if I did it right? I know this may sound wierd, but I am new to this stuff, and donw know if I did it right? DO I check and see in systems>? Where do I look to see if both hardirves are recording the input?
is there a way to check?
two 60gig Maxtor hardrives, I used a SIIG Porducts, card, UltraATA 100 PCI RAID card.
Then I put in a new operating system, xp pro, now what?
another question, but that is for another post on another board.....like can I have the 100 gig hardrive I have , and keep the OS on it, with all the programs, and how would I start it? I have it set at the moment as primary slave, but not powered up. Can I plug it back in, and boot this up?
the system I have in the 100gig is the same, XP Pro, with a bunch of my programs on it, will it conflict with the OS I just installed?
thanks for the help everyone.

New, configuration:
P4PE 2.8 malaysian Intel chip
1024 Corsair 2700 2 sticks 512mb
Radeon 9700 128mb
SB AUDIGY 2 Platinum w/Inspire 5.1
two 60gig Maxtors RAID 0 (I think)
100gig IBM for storage:D

Last edited:
u can control which powers up first in the bios under boot options.
i use sisoft sandra to check my raid drives.run the file system benchmark and just compare your score to the others.this is best way i know to check em.

you can keep youre 100 gig drive as the boot disk for ease of installation, reformatt the array drives and i would personnally break the drive into 5 or so ~20 disks, it will be nice down the road

you may get a prompt as to which version of XP to load upon boot up, dual booot system.