• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Real Time Control in Linux, also an RTAI 3.6 Install guide

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Roofles

So I'm writing this article for a couple reasons. 1) I'm doing this for my master's thesis (the real time control part), 2) I've run into a couple interesting problems so I figured posting them to the internet would hopefully help someone else searching for a solution in the future and 3) I'm a Linux newbie so its an adventure for me as well.

Now lets provide a little bit of technical background. With the 2.6 kernel there are lots of processes that are fully preemptable. So in terms of a real time system this is bad. We need what is called a 'hard real time system' which means that when the system receives an interrupt it responds within a certain deterministic period of time to it. There are two types of real time systems in this case, 'hard' and 'soft'. A simple example would be that a 'soft real time system' is like answering your cell phone, you can pick it up immediately (deterministic) you can miss the call (failing the interrupt) but still call the person back and your cell phone doesn't blow up. If you fail the interrupt for a hard real time system, like say not reacting fast enough to an obstacle in the road while driving a car, you'll hit the object and wreck your car. So failing to respond properly to interrupts in this case has dire consequences.

So our goal is to find a way to schedule our process threads in that they always start and end within a specific period of time.