• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

RMA Rejected-End User Damage

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dylskee

I was helping a friend of mine with a new build and hit a snag with Newegg with whom I've been doing business with for the last 15 years! I put together a low budget build for him and he purchased the parts and brought them over last weekend. I got everything installed on my bench top like I have done 1000s of times and I get 4 beeps and then nothing, I swapped out all the hardware and determined the motherboard was bad. All the other parts worked in my computers here, so I told him to RMA the board and get another one. He called me and told me they rejected the RMA for end user damage, stating that I damaged the pins in the CPU socket. He called and they refused to issue the RMA and gave him 10% off another board! :shock::shock:

Now, I look like an *** and I feel responsible for his out of pocket expense. I get the new board here today (ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance LGA 1155 Intel P67) and wouldn't you know it, it does the same exact thing! After further searching I found posts online stating that support told them the bios version was too old to support the new line of cpus.

Is it Newegg's policy to lie and steal from their customers now? I'm not putting up with this kind of behavior from a etailer for one minute. The BBB is getting a call today and I'll make sure everyone I know will not buy ANYTHING from these crooks anymore!

EDIT: Oh I see from another user here that this is standard practice with these guys now......

I would never send anything back to a company w/o taking pictures first.

I don't agree with their policy (or reasoning) but it is how I would handle any RMA situation.

I would never send anything back to a company w/o taking pictures first.