• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Seeking expert overclocking help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

suassive

Hi, I have an AMD cpu. I am completely new at the clocking game, I apologize before hand for my stupidity.
I've been doing quite a load of research on how or if possible to clocking this cpu but i've been coming to some dead ends, so I thought I'd give the forums a try
I understand this is a quite old processor and possibly outdated information
Correct me if I am wrong but I believe the .C for this processor is a high for an aircooler?
I found CPU Frequency on my bios using the CTRL + F1 key to show the hidden settings but that didn't change the actual frequency nor do voltage settings show up.

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ (Brisbane)
Socket: AMD2 (940)
Bus speed: 200 Mhz
Motherboard: ECS MCP61PM-GM v. 2.2 OEM
BIOS: Phoenix - Award WorkstationBIOS v6.00PG

f8708d77d4.png
f251cd9a8e.png
384841de90.png
02a16cb914.png
Any help or redirection would be much appreciated, thank you.
~just messing with an old pc

Last edited:
Is that an OEM gateway motherboard? If it is you're likely SOL. The BIOS probably will not have any overclocking features and usually AMD overdrive overclocking software will not work with a BIOS such as that.

I believe it is an Gateway, and true AMD overdrive didn't work. Well thank you for the help man, I figured I was SOL xD

I believe it is an Gateway, and true AMD overdrive didn't work. Well thank you for the help man, I figured I was SOL xD